Learn English with Podcast – Part 1

Technically this is not really the first entry for our coming back, it’s the third😉

Today I will introduce you to learning English with Podcast. I know this might not be new to many of you, but this is somehow new to me. I have heard of English Cafe (which is a part of their program) several years ago, but did not really pay attention to it. Now as I have finished my course work and want to refresh my English skill, I start looking around again. I came across this wonderful website. At first I thought this might be just another set of listening material, but it proves that it is different.

For each lesson, first you will hear a conversation at slow speed. Then the host, Dr. Jeff McQuillan, will repeat it again, with explanation of words, idioms, as well as corresponding cultural aspects. So, beside practicing your listening skill, you can easily repeat after him (here it comes the speaking part, and that’s what I do too), improving your ability to communicate in English, learn new words, and understand more about American culture. Their conversation are what you are likely to encounter in real life – if you plan to study in the America – and are also likely one of the topics you might hear from the Toefl test. The conversations are written by Dr. Lucy Tse.

Their audio files are free of charge, you can download them and listen to at your own pace. Their learning guides, on the other hand, are not. However, based on their speaking speed, one with an low intermediate English knowledge should have no problem following them.

Also, if you have iTunes (which is free to download and install at http://www.apple.com/itunes/), you can go to their Podcast section and subscribe for it. This way you can easily download many of them at once.

And, the website that I mentioned above is http://www.eslpod.com/website/index_new.html, I hope you’ll enjoy it (as much as I do🙂 )

Even though you can start with any topic you might be interested in, I would recommend you to listen to their 100th Podcast – the interview of the host, Dr. Jeff McQuillan, to have an idea how they created this Podcast program, and to understand their efford.

One Response

  1. Thank you, anhbui. I’ll try to learn this way.

Leave a Reply

