Friends TV show

250px-friends.png

Let me suggest one more way for you to improve your listening skill. You should watch the TV show “Friends”. This TV show has 10 seasons. This is its description in Wikipedia

Friends is an American situation comedy about a group of six friends living in the New York City borough of Manhattan that was originally broadcast from 1994 to 2004. It was created by David Crane and Marta Kauffman, and produced by Kevin S. Bright, Marta Kauffman and David Crane. One of the most popular television series of all time, the show has been broadcast in over one hundred countries and still continues to attract good ratings for its episodes in syndication. The final episode of the show remains one of the largest in terms of television audience numbers in the U.S.

Watching this film, you will know how the Americans talk to each other in daily life. In my opinion, this is one of the most excellent comedy films I have ever seen. Especially, if you are familiar with the American culture, I’m sure that you will like it. Hopefully, you can find this film on DVDs in VietNam.   

9 Responses

  1. This show was broadcast for 10 years, more or less. I think you meant 10 seasons, rather than 10 episodes.

  2. @htluan Yeah, you are right. Ten seasons not ten episodes. Thank you.

  3. I like this show and enjoy it a lot. However I still have a question: Is this show really tell us about the friend-lives of American people?

  4. I don’t really know. Just one point, some American guys in my department always hang out at the bar like in Friends (they always gather at Central Perk). I think that is one aspect of the American life.

  5. Sorry, but this title is also bothersome.

  6. I really enjoyed the show too. It helped me a lot in improving my listening when I first came to America.

  7. “Friends” was excellent when the cast was young and the plots were full of new ideas. They then ran out of gas but were still acceptable! You’ll learn a lot of american (pop) culture not only from their conversation in that coffee shop but also in their living places. The latter may be more important because you’ll very likely have to share an apartment with others. Learning to live with each other (even close friends) is not easy.

    If you are more sensitive of war/peace/humanity matters then I strongly recommends M*A*S*H (available in DVD). This show is now a classic and considered to be the best ever. It is about an american medic unit in Korea during the Korean war. You watch, you laugh and then you cry! Its value lasts forever in this unstable world. My family enjoys it. In fact, I was recommended by a friend of mine to watch it and improve my english when I first got here.

    Another classic is Cheers. It’s amazing to see how accurate it wittily describes different kinds of people in a tiny and unexpected place: a bar in Boston. Through their conversations over a glass of beer, “the good, the bad and the ugly” aspects of human are revealed brilliantly.

    “Seinfeld” is a little extreme, or even racist and preconceived by some standards. However, there are such people around you!

    Anyway, watching those comedies definitely makes you laugh (a very good thing to have) but also gives you an idea how americans interact and, importantly, perceive the world around them. We then understand them better to mingle with them appropriately.

  8. recommends->recommend!

  9. Wow… what a resourceful recommendation! Thank you so much! I wish I have time to watch all of them😀

Leave a Reply

